Does This Make Me a Bad Mommy?

March 29, 2011 at 3:26 pm (Parenting) (, , , )

I’m sitting down here typing away, had something happen that I wanted to get down for my Gastric Bypass blog.  My Husband is upstairs putting The Boy to bed.  I didn’t even go up and say good-night or give kisses or anything.  Nope, just sat here typing away. 

Then in the middle of the night The Boy wakes up crying and when I go to him he says, ”I needed you to pray with me, I needed you to rock me.”  Talk about breaking a mommies heart!

Of course that wasn’t the first time Daddy had ever put him down without me, nor will it be the last.  And The Boy doesn’t wake up like that every time wanting me.  There are times in the middle of the night when only Daddy will do, and Mommy gets to stay in bed, Yeah, but last night it was Mommy.

I of course pulled him up into my lap, after suggesting a midnight potty run, and rocked him until he was asleep.  As I was laying him in his bed, a very sleepy voice whispered, “I need you to pray with me.”  He was back asleep before I finished the short prayer and I gave him a kiss on the cheek.  He’s growing up so fast, hopefully we can continue to teach him that prayer is a comfort, even in the middle of the night.  Maybe, especially in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

