I Hate Housework

March 31, 2011 at 7:15 pm (Housework) (, , , )

I like the idea of a clean house. 

I like the thought of everything has a place and everything is in it’s place.

What I don’t like is the never-ending cleaning and picking up that is involved in the practical application of those ideas.  I hate cleaning.  I’d much rather sit down with my nose in a book and ignore the chaos around me.  But, that’s not right, that’s not balance and ultimately, that’s not God’s plan for my home.

I just recently finished with reading the book of Proverbs with my church.  We all know the Proverbs 31 women.  Many studies and books have been written on her.  I’ve grown to extremely dislike her, I really want to use the “H” word but can’t bring myself to use that word in relation to a Biblical figure.

Proverbs 31:10-31 (The Message)
10 A good woman is hard to find, and worth far more than diamonds.
11 Her husband trusts her without reserve, and never has reason to regret it. We all like to quote these two but don’t really like to go on to see why they are true.  That’s when it gets hard. But let us venture forth.
12 Never spiteful, she treats him generously all her life long. Okay, I get this one, I am not a spiteful woman in general and feel I live up to this one most of the time…
13 She shops around for the best yarns and cottons, and enjoys knitting and sewing. Another one for me, I LOVE to shop for yarns and cloths, I’m an avid knitter and crotchet and quilter.  Love these crafts.  Yeah, God is giving me the go ahead on something I like to do anyway, that’s not hard to follow.  Let’s see what else we got here….
14 She’s like a trading ship that sails to faraway places and brings back exotic surprises. Hey, more shopping, yeah…wait who are the surprises supposed to be for…
15 She’s up before dawn, preparing breakfast for her family and organizing her day. While I’ve not always been this woman, I did recently ask God to help me get up earlier to be able to spend time with Him.  He has, 4-5 am I am waking up and getting up.  I do find my whole day goes better when I do this.  Today, I slept in and I have been feeling like I’m playing catch up all day.  There may be something to this Proverbs woman!
16 She looks over a field and buys it, then, with money she’s put aside, plants a garden.  I am planning a garden this year, but not with money I’ve put aside, I’m taking it from our regular family budget with hubbies help.
17 First thing in the morning, she dresses for work, rolls up her sleeves, eager to get started. Do sweat pants and a T-shirt count?
18 She senses the worth of her work, is in no hurry to call it quits for the day. Okay, here’s where they lose me.  I do not sense the worth of this housework thing, and I can hardly wait until we put The Boy to bed and hubby and I get to sit down and spend time together.
19 She’s skilled in the crafts of home and hearth, diligent in homemaking. I tend to be hit or miss in the homemaking department, remember my opening paragraph?

20 She’s quick to assist anyone in need, reaches out to help the poor. I relate to this.  I do feel we have such a big house so that we can help those in need and we have in the past, however, my dislike, okay hatred, of housekeeping has rendered our two extra rooms junk piles and unusable for what we feel they are called for…. need to get that fixed.
21 She doesn’t worry about her family when it snows; their winter clothes are all mended and ready to wear. Does buying new count?
22 She makes her own clothing, and dresses in colorful linens and silks. I CAN make my own clothing and do sometimes, but my standard uniform is afore-mentioned sweats and a T-shirt.
23 Her husband is greatly respected when he deliberates with the city fathers. Not really sure how this is her doing, but I do try to keep The Boy away from hubby as he tries to work from home in his office upstairs.  Of course, right now, as I type this, The Boy is currently up in said office with his Daddy.  I did try to remove him but Daddy is okay with it for now and says to let it be….
24 She designs gowns and sells them, brings the sweaters she knits to the dress shops. I do have a desire to do this with my quilts.  I have made one original design and made it for my sister-in-law for Christmas last year..
25 Her clothes are well-made and elegant, and she always faces tomorrow with a smile. Again with the nice clothes, I’m starting to think I need a wardrobe make over and that my sweats and T-shirt are not appropriate…. The attitude adjustment is an ongoing thing,  I don’t always face Today with a smile, don’t even get me started on Tomorrow!
26 When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly.  This one God has been working on me with.  The old adage, “If you can’t say something nice, SHUT UP”  or something like that.
27  She keeps an eye on everyone in her household, and keeps them all busy and productive. I actually tend to take the attitude of “Just stay out of my hair and keep the noise to a dull roar” and leave everyone to their own devises.
28 Her children respect and bless her; her husband joins in with words of praise: I don’t think a 4-year-old is capable of respect or blessing, it’s all about him.  Hubby is all the time telling how blessed he feels to have me as a wife, clearly he has low expectations. Thank You God!
29 “Many women have done wonderful things, but you’ve outclassed them all!”
30 Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades. The woman to be admired and praised is the woman who lives in the Fear-of-God. This is I think the main point of the whole proverb.  And as I feel called to ministry (link to Worship Warrior) I am concentrating on fulfilling all that God has called me to in preparing for that.  It’s the balance with the housewife/mother role that I am trying desperately to find.
31 Give her everything she deserves! Festoon her life with praises! Another one we all try to quote at our husbands without making sure we fulfil the ones in between. 

I have a long way to go on this journey of homemaker.  I am reluctantly taking the journey.  Seeking a balance in all things.  As I type this, I have laundry sitting waiting to be folded, some in the washer and some in the dryer and one more load on the floor waiting to be started.  However, dinner is in the oven, the morning dishes are done and I have had my private time with The Lord.  My child isn’t dressed, but that is his choice, he prefers to run around in his boxers and a t-shirt and if I put clothes on him he’d just take them off and I’d have even more unnecessary laundry to do.

He does keep clothes on if we are out of the house.
So I pick my battles.

Leave a Reply

