Flowers from Hubby

April 3, 2011 at 7:14 am (Uncategorized)

 

Aren’t they pretty?  I love flowers. My favorites are Cali Lilies, but they’re only available in the early spring. I also like any other lily and roses that aren’t red.  I hate to get them for my birthday, anniversary and especially for Valentines day.  I prefer the “I was at the store, saw these and thought of you” reason for getting flowers.  It’s taken my five years to tell my hubby that.  Mostly, I like fresh-cut flowers in the house most of the time, but I’m too frugal to buy them for myself.

A few weeks ago, Hubby went to his men’s group on a Thursday night.  The Boy was atrocious that night.  It took me two hours to get him into bed and another half hour of threats to get him to stay in bed and go to sleep.  I was exhausted and I was sick at the time.  I seem to have the cold that will not end this spring.  I sent Hubby several texts throughout the night to let off some steam.  I honestly didn’t do it to make him feel guilty. No, really, that wasn’t my motive!  I just needed someone to know what I was going through and commiserate with me.

I was in bed and fast asleep by the time Hubby got home.  I heard him banging around in the kitchen a little and then I was back out.  He came home, cleaned the kitchen that I was to exhausted after battling The Boy to do, and set flowers on the end table by my Bible study chair.  In the morning when I got up around 4:30 as per my usual, I found the flowers with a note saying he was sorry he wasn’t there to help with The Boy the night before, and I walked into a clean kitchen to fix my coffee.

BEST MORNING EVER!

Since then, he has made it a point to keep flowers in the house for me.  Say it with me, “Aaawwwww!”  It’s especially special since the smell of most flowers tend to give him a headache if he’s in the same room with them for too long.

This last batch, pictured above, were to make me feel better.  Again with the cold that just won’t stay away!  However, they are very fragrant, and now Hubby can’t sit in the living room with me for any length of time.  But they sure are pretty.

What’s your opinion of cut flowers?  Do you like to have some in the house?  What’s your favorite flower?

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Tiffany said,

    I personally don’t care for flowers, I don’t like them for holidays or just because. I hate the clean up after they die and they never seem to last for any long period of time…. my husband has given me flowers and I accept them, but I just don’t like them. I think it is because I don’t have a green thumb and cannot keep them alive long enough to enjoy them :/

    • Tiffany said,

      My favorite flower though is a tiger lily and I have never received any….

  2. Miranda said,

    I love flowers! I’m old-school, I really love roses. I can’t wait for summer so I can grow my own.

    • karanutt said,

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. What color roses are your favorite?

Leave a Reply

