Hobbies, When Exactly?

April 4, 2011 at 8:12 am (Uncategorized)

 

I have lots of hobbies I enjoy.  I love to quilt and I’ve done an Underground Railroad sampler and 2 king size bed spreads.  Both the bedspreads were gifts for Christmas 2009.  One went to my Mother-in-law, the other to my now Sister-in-law.

I’m currently working on one for my own bed and 2 for the guest bedroom.
The one for my bed is VERY labor intensive with little room for error, in a word, difficult.  I enjoy the challenge, but it’s going to take me a bit longer to finish than I originally thought.

The 2 for the guest bed are part of a quilting class I am taking.  It’s not a class in the normal sense in that we go and they teach, it’s more a group of women who come together for show and tell and if we bring our current block of the month completed, we get the material for the next block for free.  I have one week left to get my block done.  The material is washed and ironed and that’s as far as I have gotten.  Thankfully this month is a very simple block.

They gave us 2 color choices, one yellow and blue, the other fall colors.  I’m doing both.  I only get the one color choice for free with the class and buy the other in fat quarters.  But when I’m done I will have 2 quilts. One spring/summer, one fall/winter.  I have fantasies where I change out the linens on a seasonal basis.  Just never you mind that I’ve never actually done that!

I also enjoy crotchet, knitting, cross stitch and painting.  I’ve come to the conclusion, however, that with a soon-to-be-4 year-old, I need to pick one and have it in a place where I can pull it out for a few minutes and quickly put it back away when The Boy gets too interested in “helping”.  He is the Anti-help.  Especially with sewing.

I’m trying to find balance.  I already get up before 5 am to spend time with my Bible and God in the quiet.  I’ve started these blogs, which I’m enjoying immensely, and then there’s all the other stuff, mommy, wife, cook, housekeeper, chauffeur….

For now, the quilting is the hobby of choice and I have a nice little set up in my living room.  It’s all nice and neat on a shelf with a collapsible table under the couch to be pulled out and set up as needed and put back out-of-the-way.  Now if I could just find the time.

How about you?  Any hobbies you enjoy?  How do you work it into your busy schedule?  Any hobbies you’ve always wanted to try?

 

 

Leave a Reply

