Sippy Cups and Dirty Dishes

April 21, 2011 at 7:49 am (Cooking, Housework, Parenting) (, , , , )

I’m going to let you in on a little secret.  I have a sink full of dirty dishes and furthermore, I have no clean sippy cups in the house.  I’m fairly certain that under all the trash, toys, coats, hoodies, and other miscellaneous detritus out in the car there are no less than 5 of them, all dirty and forgotten.  I had to hand wash one for milk this morning.

Another confession, although I am a morning person, I like my mornings to do some reading, thinking, writing and such, not making breakfast, cleaning dishes or any of that other domestic diva stuff.  So, when The Boy gets up with the sun, I give him some carnation instant breakfast (honest I tried the whole make a hot breakfast for him, he’s not a food-in-the-morning kid, neither is his dad) so, instant breakfast it is and I plop him in front of the T.V. with the  Mythbusters/Dora/Diego/Backyardagians of his choice and go and finish what I was working on.

He’s currently in there with his sippy cup of white milk (his choice) and a sippy cup from yesterday (honest) with juice and watching Mythbusters Duct Tape Special.  I for-see and afternoon spent recreating all the duct tape shenanigans with his toys.  See, he’s learning, yeah, that’s it, he’s learning in there, not mindlessly being entertained.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it… now for another cup of coffee and where did I leave my Bible?

Leave a Reply

