Twitter and Blogging

June 27, 2011 at 9:02 am (Thinking shift)

It’s official, Twitter and blogging are a major part of my life.  I dreamed about them last night.  It was a strange, I must have eaten something before bed, kind of dream.  I was staying at a luxury hotel (never done that) but when I got to my room I realized they had torn down the wall that adjoined my room with the parking garage and were using my room as an extension to the parking garage.  I went to the desk to complain and was told they were completely booked and couldn’t get me another room.  I stormed off shouting I was going to blog and twitter about this and they’d be sorry.

I didn’t have pizza last night, honest.  When I woke up this morning I got to thinking.  If someone had told me 6 years ago that technology would be this much a part of my life I would have laughed in their face.  At that time I had a basic cell phone and that was it. No computer, my TV was in a closet and only used once a week or so to watch a DVD. I had an email account that I checked maybe once a week, if I felt like it and I happened to be at my parents house or a library.  I was on eHarmony, thanks to my mother who signed me up in the middle of the night one night, but I only checked that about as often as I checked my email.

Now, I have a netbook, a laptop, a Droid X phone, a nook, we use the roku, and torrent downloads on the xBox, my 4-year-old son has an old droid loaded with his games for heaven sake!  I’m fully immersed in technology.

I try to “unplug” from time to time and re-engage with my artistic crafty self.  I am branching out with my quilting.  I’ve always wanted to do a more artistic quilt than the standard block format.  I’ve designed my own strip block quilt, based on the Fibernachi sequence, made a king size quilt and gave it to my sister-in-law for christmas.  But The Husband took a really cool picture of a storm we were having a few days ago and my first thought when I saw it was, “That would be a beautiful quilt”.  So, I’m going to give it a try.  Who knows maybe I’ll combine my artistic old school textile art with my new technological self and make enough art quilts to start my own Esty shop.

Leave a Reply

